top of page

Review of The 716

Updated: 9 hours ago

Review of The 716 by S.J. Pratt

What Would the World Be Like if Women Were in Charge?

Synopsis:


A vivid coming of age story about the courage of everyday heroes.


Olivia is destined to be the future leader of Meliora. She’s smart, rich, and innovative, and she has a pink Identifeye light. Andy is destined to be a waiter and househusband. His blue Identifeye light prevents him from pursuing his dream of becoming an engineer. After all, who ever heard of a male engineer? But when Andy’s life becomes entangled with Olivia’s and he gets the chance to prove himself on the female stage, everything starts to change.


In a futuristic society where men are second-class citizens and only binary gender norms are acceptable, Andy and Olivia must confront their own beliefs and decide what kind of world they want to live in. Will they do what is expected or what is right? And will the wrong choice spell disaster?


Fans of Divergent and The Lunar Chronicles will enjoy this original and thought-provoking sci-fi adventure. Get ready for a touch of romance, smart heroes and an adorable robot bestie.


 

Review:


Back in early 2022, I watched a wonderful live stream on Bookstagram. S.J. Pratt talked about her gender role flipping book. She read a few excerpts from her book and I thought, that sounds like fun. I am happy to say, it was a fun read.


This wonderful sci-fi book is set in Meliora where woman rule the world because men messed it up. Men are not allow to become engineers or even get an education. Sound familiar?


Though I found the beginning a little slow for my taste, I think this book is an amazing start to the series. Readers are introduced to the protagonists as Olivia takes the REAL test that will decide her future, while Andy looks on longingly from the sidelines. This reversed gender role, rags-to-riches story, takes you through the daily life of these two characters as they come to terms with their own missed preconceptions of the world.


Pratt did a wonder job in placing her characters in their reversed stereotypical roles while maintaining their respective masculinity and femineity. I thoroughly enjoyed the part where Andy accidently showed a small portion of his ankle, and I laughed out loud when a female reprimanded him for it.

I know most people will love the cute little robot Ray. Don't get me wrong, I love Ray too. But my favorite character actually ended up being Hargreaves, Olivia's faithful bodyguard.


Overall I definitely recommend checking out this book. I can't wait until the next book comes out. And now I really want to take that REAL test.


 

Keep in touch! Sign up for the bi-monthly Wright newsletter to access the latest blogs, projects, sales, and more. As a thank you, you'll receive the prequel to The Progenitor Chronicles, Time Crystal, for free. Use the signup form below!


Time Crystal

The Progenitor Chronicles


Synopsis:


Time Crystals are forbidden for a reason, but King Oren must use one to save a civilization.


King Oren’s only goal was to be a peaceful caretaker of the galaxy. But when a girl falls through a portal into his courtyard clutching a forbidden Time Crystal, his life changes.

With a cataclysmic event imminent, he must lead a group from his home system to the opposite side of the galaxy. Everyone looks to their seemingly immortal race for aid, but even with their elemental powers, they are far from perfect.

Armed with the Time Crystal, they seek to stop an exploding star from decimating an entire population. The problem is, he doesn’t know how to use the crystal. Even worse, he might die trying.

Will King Oren stop the star from exploding? Or will time unravel?



The reviews are the thoughts of Sara Wright about books that she's read and recommends to her readers. The choice is yours as to whether you'd like to purchase and read them too.


Sara Wright is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for sites to earn fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com. Please bear in mind that links used in this blog are affiliate links. If you go through them, I will receive a small commission at no extra cost to to you.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page